the blind GM rides again

Hey folks. I know it’s been a while since my last update. Honestly I have been having some trouble finding things to write about. I’ve already talked about the kinds of issues I deal with in the hobby, as well as reasons why you might want us in your game. My next planned update was going to be about going to cons and what I found there, but since this would necessitate actually going to said cons, my limited cash flow made this unfeasible this year. So with the con option out of the picture for now I was at a loss. I had primed the pump, so to speak, with my last 2 entries, but was still coming up dry. And then it hit me. At first I didn’t want to write just another play experience blog, complaining about rules and telling anecdotes about my players. But I did some thinking, and realized that that was precisely what I needed to be writing about. If my goal is to bring awareness to the issues us blind folks deal with in gaming, then I need to tell you about what my gaming is like. Please forgive me if I am the last person to arrive at this conclusion. In about A week I will be starting up a Dresden files game, and in about a month I will be starting a pathfinder one, and this blog will be the place I discuss them. It will have all the regular elements of almost every other gaming blog, but it will also have the issues we come up against, and hopefully the solutions we find. It will have guest entries from some of my players to provide differing viewpoints about how things are going, and best of all it will be the perfect tool for getting my message out there to as many people as possible. So in the coming weeks and months when you are reading about great warriors cleaving goblins, vampire detectives stalking the streets of tempi Arizona, or dashing spies foiling Nazi plots, remember the warriors detectives and spies just may be totally blind.

Finally I am considering either at the end of each blog entry, or perhaps as a separate entry entirely,, compiling a list of accessible games and gaming tools me, my players, and hopefully my readers, bring to my attention, and the links on where to obtain them. But this promises to be an evolved and sometimes expensive process, so it will be something I do only if I receive some indication of interest from readers.
Now I will leave you in the way I always do, with my request. if you would like to see the gaming companies start making products accessible to the blind, please contact them and tell them so. thank you.

About theblindgm

i am a totally blind table top gamer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the blind GM rides again

  1. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or tips. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more things about it!

  2. How’s the Pathfinder coming, or went?

Leave a Reply

